Upgrade Amp from Cambridge Audio AM5 to Marantz 6005?

seemiles

Jun 6, 2015
Visit site
Hi

I am a hi-fi newbie (so please excuse any naivities) and only recently started my first separates setup. I bought a Cambridge Audio Topaz AM5 a couple of years ago, running a pair of Q-Acoustics (sub £100 - cant remember model), and recently upgraded these to a pair of Tannoy Revolution DC6T SE.

The setup sounds 'nice' - but I have a gut feeling, being a knowingly budget amp, that this is something I feel an upgrade is necessary to get better from the speakers. I am looking at a Marantz 6005 - but I dont really know what to expect in terms of sound difference - will it be worth the upgrade? I mainly listen from an ipod (though a reasonable bitrate 192kbps or higher) and as such realise the sound has been compromised somewhat through compression anyway.

Any help, insight or guidance would be very much appreciated.

Thanks

Miles

NJB

Nov 28, 2008
Visit site
The iPod is a decent enough starting point, using high bit rate files and, better still, a lossless format like ALAC will retain much of the info in the music data stream. However, unless you use an external DAC then you will be reliant on the internal iPod DAC to convert the data into an analogue line output for the amplifier. This is ok, but can be improved upon.

The AM5 is fairly basic, I had one for a short time but found that it lacked punch and detail. A move to a better amplifier is going to give you a better sense of scale and you will probably quickly realise that you have been missing a lot of the music in the past.

The new speakers will probably make the AM5 sound worse than ever. Decent speakers really emphasise the good and bad points of the chain up until them. I suspect that a demo, at a dealer, will be a very illuminating experience.

seemiles

Jun 6, 2015
Visit site