Turntable Newbie

winty

Feb 22, 2022
Visit site
I have been listening to Tidal Masters streaming ,mostly MQA for last 4 months. Used Tidal app on my phone connected to my onkyo amp via a IFI Zen V2 DAC. And very nice too.
But today , a new Audio Technica AT LPW 50 PB turntable arrived.
It sounded horrible and distorted , until I realised,in my stupidly, I had set the tracking weight miles too high.(had not touched a turntable for 30 years)
A call to Richer Sounds and watching a You Tube video helped me set it spot on, and it sounds fantastic.
It's a whole new world of having to get out of the chair every time one side of the record has played to change sides
But really nice to actually own music, rather than renting it.
Two questions ,
What's the best way to keep my records clean (all 3 of them at the moment!)
Can you tailor the sound to individual preference using a different stylus or cartridge stylus combo or is speaker selection likely to have more effect.
I have a small music room 3.5 m square and use Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 s on Mission stands.

Gray

Welcome back to the future Winty (but good luck with present-day vinyl prices).

A carbon fibre brush would keep your records clean and storing them in antistatic sleeves would help.
Cartridge / stylus changes will certainly change your sound - speakers (most people would probably agree), more so.
You've got the same cartridge as I have, which I think is pretty good. People report a benefit by changing to the ML stylus - and I would hope so too, given its price.

I assume your Onkyo has a phono pre amp,?? but so does your turntable.
Just wonder if you've experimented and compared your two phono preamps - as they should have noticeable differences in sound.

Reactions: WayneKerr

winty

Feb 22, 2022
Visit site
Thanks for your thoughts .
I have used the turntable with its built in phono on and off, using phono and line in on my onkyo, and aux on my old Cambridge Audio Topaz.