To Sonos sub or not to sub (feat other questions)

Scotttomo

Apr 12, 2020
Visit site
Good evening.

Brand new to the forum, so hello all.

I have limited knowledge of AV and hifi equipment but wouldn’t consider myself an amateur, at least when it comes to hooking a system up at least. Cables and wires are easy enough to interconnect, the details and complexities of settings and tuning a system though, I’m out 🤗

I’ve a Sonos system in the house, currently composed of 2 ones, a play:3 and a soon to be “legacy”connect amp that, due to the upgrade system, has given me a discount of 30% off a Sonos product.

I’m currently looking into adding a beam to a new tv (Toshiba TX-58GX800) in the living room, with the ones providing the rear stage of the surround system. (Another problem integrating my AV receiver with multiple sources further down)
While checking the Sonos site, the entertainment set of a beam and sub caught my eye as it would, I thought, be a cracking deal with the 30% discount.
A doubt has been planted though as I was doing a bit of reading up before I take the plunge and in a helpful article on the what hifi website, it’s mentioned that the addition of the Sonos sub to a system with a beam as a central channel is overkill and unnecessary, yet in the review of the sub itself, it states the sub is a welcome addition to any Sonos music or cinema system.

I‘m confused about what to do, based on the slightly conflicting views.
Given that I have a 30% off discount from the trade up program and wanted to get the best deal for my money while I can, can someone please advise? Is it worth buying the sub for a future home cinema upgrade to have play:3’s as rears? Or am I just getting ahead of myself and considering something I won’t need?