Thinking about putting in a projector set up...help needed

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Now that the F1 season is almost on us I'm thinking about installing a projector set up to really get into the action. I don't want a huge TV sitting in the room and like the idea of an electric screen coming down from the ceiling then disappearing back again when not in use.

I don't want to spend a fortune but would like it to be a reasonable picture. I've found a brand new Optoma 3D GT750-XL projector for £550 which is 720p resolution. We will be sitting about 13ft away from the screen.

Will a 72" screen be too big at that viewing distance?
Can anyone recommend a good screen?
Does anyone know if the Optoma 3D GT750-XL projector is any good?

Am I crazy for trying to do this with a 720p??

Xanderzdad

Jun 25, 2008
Visit site
How about trying the projector onto the wall initially. That will allow you to gauge the ideal size before paying for a screen.

I've been doing that for 4 years with FullHD and never felt the need to actually get a screen (although, before I am shouted at, I know they will make the image brighter).

Amazon do some decent screens for just over £100.

BTW 720p looks brilliant and not that different to FullHD with a decent upscaler.

Clare Newsome

Jun 4, 2007
Visit site
Personally I think you'll be disappointed with the quality at that distance - though it does, of course, depend on size of screen you're planning to project on. Try before you buy would be my recommendation as a projector owner.

And remember most f1 races are in daytime: brightness/blackout issues key

A

Anonymous

Clare,

Do you mean we will be sitting too close or too far away? I was thinking of a 72" or 85" screen.

I am finding it difficult to find any reviews for the GT750XL - do you know if they are any good?

Sorry for so many questions!

Thanks,

David

A

Anonymous