The Great Cable Debate

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all,

I'm really interested in audiophile cables, from both a buying aspect and a science aspect. I'm a physicist, and find this a very interesting area of application [:)]

My question is twofold. Firstly, is there a difference between digital cables as well as analogue cables? Secondly, what features/build qualities for a cable will increase.

On an auxilliary note, I'm interested if there are any double blind peer reviewed studies of what actual effect different cables have beyond placebo.

aliEnRIK

Aug 27, 2008
Visit site
Frohicky:
Hi all,

I'm really interested in audiophile cables, from both a buying aspect and a science aspect. I'm a physicist, and find this a very interesting area of application
emotion-1.gif

My question is twofold. Firstly, is there a difference between digital cables as well as analogue cables? Secondly, what features/build qualities for a cable will increase.

On an auxilliary note, I'm interested if there are any double blind peer reviewed studies of what actual effect different cables have beyond placebo.

Hi Frohicky

Ive seen an experiment where a guy measured jitter in a digital coaxial cable, and not only did he find that they differed, they were also found to be directional (higher jitter in one way over the other). So yes, id say there 'can' be differences.

When people measure hdmi leads they nearly always use the 'eye' test. I personally cant see that being too accurate. The equipment to measure true loss of information costs a hell of a lot of money though so I cant see that changing anytime soon.

As for the auxillary note ~ Ive scoured the net (Still ongoing) for answers. Ive not yet seem a single properly conducted blind test (be it ABX or blind or whatever) that has shown that speaker cables, interconnects, mains cables or digital cables make any difference.

Whilst I cant testify to actually being in a blind test myself ~