Dear audiophiles,

For quite some time I have been in the market for a new hifi system. I had some clear requirements in my mind but nonetheless I did not know much about the electronics, the differences among types of speakers, the sound of a particular brand, and so on.

Like many starters it is this forum that pointed me to some attention points and possible gear combinations. What surprised me is that quite some persons urged advice-seekers to go and listen to the music. To me this was quite surprising, as an IT / mathematician I was wondering how this could be: all of the devices are electronics, hard science, and based on the materials used, noise cancellations methods installed, and so on, you should be able to pinpoint the best system given a budget, right?

Although I was happy to have some guidance regarding equipment, but all of you advicers that said "Go to the shop and listen for yourself"...well... thanks a lot. Just from this list I was planning on having a Hegel integrated amp with some Kef R speakers. I sought a hi-fi shop and started demoing this combination with my musical preference. Initially I thought it sounded nice but there was also an unpleasant feeling saying "Do I have to pay so much for this kind of sound"? Sure it sounded better than my current system but for 3x the money I was quite disappointed. Together with the person in the shop we started testing other amps and speakers. And then I understood all of you. So much difference wrt your musical preference. And sometimes gear gets overhyped.