Surround Sound VS Soundbar

mannisrai

Feb 23, 2012
Visit site
So, i'm brand new to home cinema. I don't have any equipment at this time, and i don't really want to be spending more than £400, that includes ALL cables aswell.

So i'm currently deciding between an av reciever/speaker package or soundbar. Here is why i want to buy each:

AV reciever/speaker package - pros:

full surround sound experience

Sounbar - pros:

Cheaper seperate components which would arguably produce better sq?

Lack of wires trailing everywhere

Lack of space needed unlike AV reciever

If i brought an AV reciever/5.1 speakers/cables/wires for £400 or just one soundbar for £400, what would produce better sound quality?

mannisrai said:
If i brought an AV reciever/5.1 speakers/cables/wires for £400 or just one soundbar for £400, what would produce better sound quality?

This one.

showimage.php

Only buy standard 79 strand OFC cables, like this one.

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
Depends what you mean by sound quality. If you're looking for a proper surround experience, good as they are, no soundbar will be able to reproduce that as well as a proper 5.1 setup. But if you're looking more at things like music playback (not just dedicated - this can be just as important for movie watching), quality of dialogue etc, then there's probably a bit more debate to be had - it's quite possible a soundbar will be able to do this better than a budget AV receiver / satellite speaker setup.

Audition is key!

KeithT

Feb 3, 2010
Visit site
I own a Yamaha soundbar and whilst it is great for movies, it's poor with stereo but a bit better with music gigs in 5.1 but not close to a proper 5.1.

Leeps

Dec 10, 2012
Visit site
Can I give you a bit of a left-field suggestion?

I appreciate that this doesn't exactly fit your original post, but if I was spending £400 on a system, I know what I would do.