Subwoofer advice

wilsmusic

Nov 14, 2009
Visit site
Hi all. First post in ages!

I have a BK subwoofer on the way to compliment my LS50's.

There will be times when the system needs to play very loud to fill a big room. Hence buying the sub.

Demo'd my kit in this room the other day and I had the Roksan K2 BT turned up all the way to 4/5 pm. Normally never gets passed 11!

so my question is about the difference between hi and low level inputs on the BK and whether either makes a difference to the amount of work the amp needs to do? Specifically does using the pre outs on the amp to connect to the sub make any difference to workload compared to wiring the BK to the speaker posts of the amp?

i am no electrical expert so advice appreciated!

Thanks.

Andrewjvt

Jun 18, 2014
Visit site
wilsmusic said:
Hi all. First post in ages!

I have a BK subwoofer on the way to compliment my LS50's. 

There will be times when the system needs to play very loud to fill a big room. Hence buying the sub. 

Demo'd my kit in this room the other day and I had the Roksan K2 BT turned up all the way to 4/5 pm. Normally never gets passed 11!

so my question is about the difference between hi and low level inputs on the BK and whether either makes a difference to the amount of work the amp needs to do?  Specifically does using the pre outs on the amp to connect to the sub make any difference to workload compared to wiring the BK to the speaker posts of the amp?

i am no electrical expert so advice appreciated!

Thanks. 

First if you play your kandy that high on the volume knob you will certainly blow the kefs

If you wire an amplified sub to preouts, you have no need to worry about the work the amplifier itself does. In the context you mean it, the work is done by the power amp part of your amp, which is driving your LS50s only.

Pedro

May 31, 2016
Visit site
wilsmusic said:
yes. I was worried about that too. Realise Kandy is rated 140w. 

What do you think is the max the ls50's can take?