Streamer or AVR advice needed please

Jakey0611

Oct 7, 2013
Visit site
Hi,

Im a newbie to all this but I've done a bit of research and still have a couple of questions. If anyone could help I'd be grateful.

All my music content and most of my films (bar a few blu rays) are stored on hard disc so I want to play pretty much everything from nas via a control app on my iPad. I want to spend about £1200 but I'm not sure whether to get a streamer (I.e Cambridge audio minx xi or marantz mcr610 or alike) or an equivalently priced AVR. My wife and I listen to music (Internet radio is a must) about as much as tv so 50/50 music /tv. Im not bothered about surround sound so I'll only have the two speakers so here are my questions.

1) I've seen a few threads about hi fi amp Vs AVR and the answer all seem to be to go with hifi amp because of music quality but I haven't seen any recommendations for the difference in music quality between an equivalently priced AVR and streaming system. Am I going to get much better music from an all in one (I.e camb audio minx xi) that I would from an equivalently priced AVR?

2) is there a rule of thumb for what to spend on an AVR/ all in one compared to what you spend on speakers? For example I was looking at the camb audio aero 6 floor standers to go with the minx xi or equivalent AVR. Would I be over speccing one or the other here?

Thanks in advance

Jake

Overdose

Feb 8, 2008
Visit site
Firstly, an AVR can sound every bit as good as a stereo hifi amp.

I think it is possible to stream video to an iPad from the NAS. If this is possible and I'm fairly sure it is, you could get away with an Apple TV as your streaming device. You could then look for a suitable amp/AVR that had an integral DAC to run your speakers.