Sonos compared with my cyrus

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi i am of course expecting a difference in sound quality between my cd player (cyrus cd8x) and the sonos set up but running the sonos through my onkyo and my new 805s speakers how much difference is there? I will make sure the music is in the best possible quality. Im curious because i think if i invest in the sonos my cyrus will become slightly redundant just because of the convenience! Thanks

A

Anonymous

I am not an expert, but if you run your Cyrus CD Player via analogue out-put to your A/V Receiver (which means that your Cyrus's internal Digital-to-Analogue Converter(s) is being utilised), then the sound quality should be far superior than through a Sonos system.

A

Anonymous

Is there anyway of improving the sonos sound then get is as close as possible to the cyrus? Using a dac? Would appreciate any advice. Thanks

A

Anonymous

Please don't take what I say as gospel, but yes, an out-board DAC will significantly improve performance. However, an uncompressed CD via a dedicated CD Player with its own DAC will still sound better, but I do realise that you will be downloading the best quality you can to minimise the loss of performance.

I am not sure if the Chord Cordette DAC might be able to be used in conjunction with a Sonos. I am not familiar with items like this, but it might be worth asking your local retailer.

A

Anonymous

dantan:
However, an uncompressed CD via a dedicated CD Player with its own DAC will still sound better

Come on.ÿ

The_Lhc

Oct 16, 2008
Visit site
dantan:

Please don't take what I say as gospel, but yes, an out-board DAC will significantly improve performance. However, an uncompressed CD via a dedicated CD Player with its own DAC will still sound better, but I do realise that you will be downloading the best quality you can to minimise the loss of performance.