Rega planar 1 plus combination

mark?

Jan 9, 2024
Visit site
Hi all,

Im new to all this new hifi equipment having not had any for the past 25 years. Im looking at purchasing a rega planar 1 plus but looking for some advice please. As it has the phone stage built in do I still require an amplifier or can I connect directly into a set of speakers.

Thanks

Mark

matthewpianist

Look at the Rega System One, which combines the Planar 1 with a Rega io amplifier and Kyte speakers. It's a tremendous vinyl system at an affordable price. If you wish to add streaming, go for a WiiM Pro Plus, and you'll have a cracking system for £1,150 total.

Hi all,

Im new to all this new hifi equipment having not had any for the past 25 years. Im looking at purchasing a rega planar 1 plus but looking for some advice please. As it has the phone stage built in do I still require an amplifier or can I connect directly into a set of speakers.

Thanks

Mark
You would need an amplifier or preamp, depending on what type of speakers you will be getting, as you need a volume control somewhere in the system.

Reactions: nopiano

Fandango Andy

Hi all,

Thanks

Mark
Phono stage is essentially a preamp you would then need an amplifier. (Some people have a phono stage as part of the record player, others have them built in to the amp, others use a totally separate one) Alternatively you could have powered speakers, which are essentially speakers with inbuilt amps.

Reactions: DougK1
Phono stage is essentially a preamp you would then need an amplifier. (Some people have a phono stage as part of the record player, others have them built in to the amp, others use a totally separate one) Alternatively you could have powered speakers, which are essentially speakers with inbuilt amps.
His suggestion of turntable might have an inbuilt phono preamp but he's still going to need a preamp with a volume control if he adds powered speakers.

Reactions: Fandango Andy
Hi all,

Thanks

Mark
Welcome to the forum!