RCA interconection or Optical?

babrichard

May 9, 2015
Visit site
Hi Everyone

Just looking for some advice from the Audiophile community. I have a Marantz PM6005 amp hooked up to a Roksan Kandy KC1 CD player. Both have RCA or Optical imputs available. I have listened to both and think the Optical is slightly brighter with a a more solid sound stage. I am using an OLD Van Den Hull RCA interconector but a new cheapy Maplin Optical conector. Are there any opions out there on wether a new RCA or upgraded Optical will make much difference, or is it just down to the different quality properties between the Roksan and the Marantz. One more thing Just bought a Atlas Element Integra JP2 that has really opened my ears, what a difference a small cable makes. Hope theres some advice out there. I'm a not masive Audio tech far from it. If it helps to know I am using Q Accustic 2020i speakers with a Rega RP1 turntable, Cambridge Audo premium banana plugs and Bi-wired using Cambridge Symphony 400 cable.

Hope you can help, Many thanks

SteveR750

Souds like you prefer the DAC in the Marantz amp to the Roksan. If that's how it is, then make it so. The interconnects, especially the optical cable should have little to no effect, though your ears may differ. A chreap optical cable is fine, just don't bend it too much!

babrichard

May 9, 2015
Visit site
Steve, Many thanks for the reply.

If an upgraded Optical or RCA (say £50/70) isn't going tp improve the Audio that much. I would rather invest in some better speaker cable than the Cambridge Audio Symphany 400, Or am I just being sucked in again? Is there that much difference in quality between £2.30 and £6 per metre cable?. I Won't bend it too much. Just looked there was a pretty big bend in it!

SteveR750