Onkyo TX-NR609 - how to play PCM 5.1 from Blu-Ray?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am new to Blu-Ray and have been updating some of my DVDs with Blu-Ray. Most have Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD Master, and my Onkyo has no problem playing these formats. On the Onkyo I have the 'Listening Mode Preset' as follows:

Dolby D/Dolby D Plus/TrueHD & DTS/DTS-ES/DTS-HD both set to 'Straight Decode'. This produces the correct output from the AVR when I have set the Blu-Ray disc (player is set to 'bitstream') to HD audio.

Now we come to PCM 5.1 uncompressed and it is here that I don't appear to be able to hear HD sound, as when I change the Blu-Ray from DD 5.1 to PCM 5.1 I don't see any improvement - in fact I think it is worse!

On the Onkyo setup option of 'Listening Mode Preset' for 'BD/DVD', can anyone tell me what to configure in the other sound formats other than those listed above? Under Listening Mode Preset I am looking at the following:

Analog / PCM / Digital

Mono/Multiplex Source

2ch Source

Dolby D/Dolby D Plus/TrueHD - NO PROBLEM - set to 'Straight Decode'

DTS/DTS-ES/DTS-HD - NO PROBLEM - set to 'Straight Decode'

Other Multich Source

So, which of the above should I set for PCM 5.1 to get the correct HD sound, and to what setting?

Thanks for any assistance.

Paul.

A

Anonymous