New to all this - need machine 4 surround sound/ipod/dvd/tuner (possibly digital or internet radio)/speakers and future proof!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi there, I'm completely new to the world of buying decent hi fi kit. I last bought a Sony hi fi system in 1990 and it literally gave up the ghost only last week after a lifetime of immense use and a fair bit of knocking about.

I need something that will work as a tuner (possibly digital or internet ideally), with an ipod dock, that can do the home cinema surround sound and HD TV etc., that has several hdmi inputs and anything else that will future proof it (speakers with it would be a bonus but i appreciate it this may not be possible).

I've not got thousands to spend and am fully aware of the speed technology is moving so don't want to throw good money at a machine to find out in 5 years time if can't quite handle the latest audio/blu ray/quadruple HD/whatever they invent next! For example are there any systems that i could run a hard drive through a usb?

All suggestions greatly appreciated!

Many thanks,

Mike.

A

Anonymous

Hi Andy, well i'm looking to spend around £650 on the amp as i see that as the most important component. It would be good if that had a tuner on though as i don't really want a separate tuner. The speakers, cables and wires i'm open to anything pricewise.

If you could help with some suggestions that would be great as I seem to be going in circles. I was just about to buy the Sony DAV-IS10 when en engineer at work said to me that it may be good for now but not necessarily for the future as it didn't have many HDMI inputs (only has one i think).

Many thanks,

Mike.

Andy Madden

Staff member
Feb 3, 2006
Visit site