Need advice in buying first hifi system

css147

Apr 14, 2023
Visit site
Hello everyone,

I am a beginner audiophile and I have been listening to music using Sennheiser hd560 headphones with ifi hip dac. Now I am looking to buy my first budget 2-channel hifi system.

I will be streaming music from online sources like amazon music and Spotify. I would also connect the system to TV to improve its sound. I do not plan to use any vinyl or cd sources at the moment. Music type will be mostly old songs, instrumental, Western orchestra, and sometimes English rock music.

I have been going through lot of reviews and have put together a shortlist for integrated amplifier+bookshelf system based on online reviews and recommendations from 1-2 dealers. I am hoping that members here would be able to guide me in fixing the configuration

For amplifier with online streaming, I am considering the following options:

a) Marantz NR1200 stereo receiver
b) Marantz PM6007 + a budget streamer like WiiM mini or something else
c) Marantz PM7000N

For bookshelf speakers, I am considering Elac b5.2 or b6.2

Which of the above integrated amplifier options should I choose? Or some other amplifier option would be better?

For speakers should I go with Elac bookshelf speakers or some other option?

Thank you for your input

Reactions: matthewpianist

matthewpianist

Welcome to the forum, it's good to have you here, and there's plenty of people here who will give you good advice.

I'd go for either the PM6007 + streamer, or the PM7000N. Both will give you very good sound for the money, and it really comes down to whether you want the streaming built-in or whether you want to keep that outboard for greater flexibility (you won't be limited to the HEOS platform). There's also the PMA-900HNE, Denon's equivalent of the PM7000N. It has a very similar feature set but some key differences.