My First Hi-Fi System

Lunecz

Jun 4, 2014
Visit site
Hi everybody,

I'm a complete novice when it comes to all of this. But I am a massive music lover and musician with a good ear for sound and after hearing music on people's hi-fi's and going back to my computer speakers, I just feel really dissapointed when listening to them.

I've been doing some basic research and wondered if you guys could help me out with putting together a budget system.

I listen to a wide variety of music and I know people get annoyed at newbies always wanting loads of bass. But I guess I would feel a little dissapointed if I spent a decent amount of my wages on a system and I couldn't get much bass from it. But obviously I don't want it to compromise the overall sound.

I was thinking...

Speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 121

Amp: Teac A-R630 Stereo Amplifier

Turntable: Pro-Ject Essential II

Cables: AudioQuest FLX-SLiP 14/4 Bi-Wire

Feel free to school me or call me a fool or whatever haha. As I say, I am awful with technology. I was told the speaker cables were very important and that my current cheapest I could find turntable was ruining my records so that's why I'm putting them on there as well and just the amp/speaker combination. I chose the amp and speakers just because everyone seemed to think they were good value for money.

Do you think, with those speakers, it's necessary to purchase a sub-woofer at some point as well. I saw the Wharfedale also have one in the same product range.

Thanks for the help guys, I will appreciate any replies :)

x

Lunecz

Jun 4, 2014
Visit site
Sorry, forgot to say...

I'll be playing mp3s from my mac mainly. But they will all be good quality.

And I'll be playing records.

Thanks!

x

RobinKidderminster

May 27, 2009
Visit site