My first Hi-Fi system doesnt sound quite right

Tariqv

Jan 1, 2013
Visit site
Im new to hifi and bought my system without hearing it due to limited auditioning availability in my country. I dont have a cd collection so I listen to Flac through a windows 7 laptop via Wireworld starlight usb into mdac and using the Roksan kandy k2 integrated as pre and power. The thing Im not liking is the fact that the music sounds nothing special, not inviting and fullbodied enough, this is evident especially with rock music where many fast instruments play together, you really dont get excited and satistied. Otherwise electronic music is quite enjoyable with good bass and acoustic music is even better with highs quite likeable and vocals realistic.

I believe the primary problem is the synergy of the roksan with the other equipment, it might be too analytical?!

Im thinking of auditioning a Naim 5i used in a few days, will post how that goes.

Appeciate if you could share your experience so I can improve upon my system.

T

the record spot

Very much doubt its the speakers Cno, whereas the amp seems to divide opinion... the dual concentric arrangement resulted in a very musical presentation to my ears. I listen to a lot of rock, classical, jazz... the works and the Tannoys haven't put a foot wrong.

BigH

Dec 29, 2012
Visit site
I have heard that the Tannoys DC6Ts do need a bit of driving to get them going, so if you are are lower volumns a more sensitive speaker may be better for you.

Tariqv

Jan 1, 2013
Visit site