Match Speaker & Audio Cables to Equipment

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi there

I am new to this and would like some help in choosing speaker and audio cables that will best match my systems performance for sound quality. My equipment is as follows:

For Stereo: Pair of Paradigm Studio 100s V5; Arcam CD36; Arcam C31 and Arcam P1s.

For Home Theatre: Paradigm Studio 100s; CC-690 & Studio 20s; Denon 4310 AVR.

Thanks in advance!

aliEnRIK

Aug 27, 2008
Visit site
My personal opinion is that there arnt massive differences between cables (Unless theyre very poorly constructed)

Purity of conductor is more important than shielding, and shielding isnt needed at all for speaker wires. Its also best to use the same material for both interconnect and speaker cable so that frequency responses are the same

Id recommend Van Damme UP LC-OFC for both IC and speaker cables (look on ebay for terminated ICs)

For purity you cant beat it unless your willing to pay over 200 quid for each cable from the 'known brand' manufacturers (Probably a lot more than that)

A

Anonymous

Thank you for your feedback. I don't know of Van Damme Cables but will look into it.

I have been told by a few retailers to buy Audioquest Colorado or the Chord Company's Signature Cable as they would be a good match for the Paradigms and Arcams; however both are really expensive cable and I think that would be overkill.

Am I correct in thinking this?

Thanks.

ESP2009

Feb 16, 2009
Visit site
dermie:

Thank you for your feedback. I don't know of Van Damme Cables but will look into it.

I have been told by a few retailers to buy Audioquest Colorado or the Chord Company's Signature Cable as they would be a good match for the Paradigms and Arcams; however both are really expensive cable and I think that would be overkill.

Thanks.

Uh-oh! Here we go again - take cover!
emotion-60.gif

aliEnRIK

Aug 27, 2008
Visit site
dermie:

Thanks.