Living with the graphic equalizer on

steve_1979

Jul 14, 2010
Visit site
Hi all.

A couple of months ago I switched on the graphic equalizer on my computer while listening to some 'Infected Mushroom' rave music at loud volume. The tweeks I made were very subtle - just a tiny 1dB increase from 30Hz to 125Hz and a 1dB decrease from 8Hz to 20kHz. The change that this made to the sound was very subtle indeed, barely noticable in fact but just enough to give it a slightly fuller and warmer sound.

So two months later and I've just noticed that I'd forgotten to switch it back off again and I've been listening to it like this for the past two months without realizing. In the past whenever I've fiddled with the graphic equalizer I've always found that I prefered the sound with it switch off. But now that I've had two months to acclimatise to a slightly fuller and warmer sound I find that I actually prefer it this way now.

So what's the point of me telling you this? Well if you listen to a computer based system try tweeking the graphic equalizer by just 1dB in the same way that I have. Then give yourself a couple of weeks acclimatise before changing it back. You never know. You might like what you hear.

steve_1979

Jul 14, 2010
Visit site
You should try blasting out Infected Mushroom at high volume with the bass turned up a bit Cno. It'll make you feel young again.

Army of Mushrooms is a good album. It's very progressive music though so you need to listen to the tracks from beginning to end to fully appreciate it.

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009
Visit site
steve_1979 said:
You should try blasting out Infected Mushroom at high volume with the bass turned up a bit Cno. It'll make you feel young again.

Army of Mushrooms is a good album. It's very progressive music though so you need to listen to the tracks from beginning to end to fully appreciate it.

Onto my Christmas list it will go!

steve_1979 said:
Hi all.