Is technical information in addition to reviews helpful?

drummerman

Jan 18, 2008
Visit site
Is specific technical info about a particular product helpful or just pointless. Is it important to you. I am talking about colour triangles/D65 etc. settings out of box and after calibration with perhaps hints how to optimize specific models/brands.

Your thoughts ...

The_Lhc

Oct 16, 2008
Visit site
The settings might be useful, but I've no idea what "colour triangles/D65" and all that is, so it wouldn't mean anything to me. I bought an issue of Hi-Fi news last month for a bookshelf speaker roundup and the reviewer(s) in there were giving all sorts of graphs and figures, none of which meant anything to me at all.

I work in IT incidentally, so I'm used to technical, errr, stuff (inspiring isn't it?), but none of that lot would make a difference to me.

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
Not really, I'm only really concerned about its performance in terms of the possible picture / sound quality. Colour temperature of xxxxK means very little to me, whereas, "colours are a little washed out" is something I can visualise and is therefore helpful. I know some find the technical data interesting and useful, but I would suggest they are very much in the minority.

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
professorhat:I know some find the technical data interesting and useful, but I would suggest they are very much in the minority.

Magazine sales figures tend to concur with you, prof chap.

A

Anonymous

I think there should be some sort of measurement of audio and visual products.

Human subjective reviewing can't always be consistent.

coolaboola

Sep 19, 2008
Visit site