I just bought a Thorens TD160 Mark 2

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi chaps

I just bought an immaculate TD 160. It must be age but I had a desire to play vinyl again.

The turntable plans fine, everything works. But can I make it sound better? I was shipped to Hong Kong and came back - courier couldnt find the buyer so i suspect it got bounced about.

What can I do to make sure it sounds the best it can for what it is?

It has a Thorens arm and a Shure cartridge.

I am no expert but think I have picked a reasonable antique.

Can anyone give some advice? It sounds okay, but doesnt sound as crisp as I hoped it might.

Cheers

A

Anonymous

Clean and lubricate everything, and check the belt - I'd get a replacement one anyway. Also check the alignment and tracking weight of your cartridge. Service manuals and instruction manuals can be found at vinylengine.

What cartridge do you have? That may be part of the problem.

Other things you may want to look at in the future is the tonearm. If thorens have a weak link, it's that, and you'll find heaps of info about how to replace them on the net. I wouldn't bother, since a standard TD160 is better than most mid range turntables available to-day and is a classic deck.

A

Anonymous

Thanks Grottyash :) I'll have a proper look later and come back to you - i'll buy a new belt then, cartridge is a Shure but not sure which model...... The deck is immaculate other than a chipped cover, which I glued back with perspex glue and you cant see it really. I picked it up for what I think is a song at £30 yesterday! Good to hear its a positive reviewed deck?

A

Anonymous

thanks FBSF :)

whats the difference between a stylus and a cartridge and then tonearm?

Confused.com

fatboyslimfast

Jan 10, 2008
Visit site
monkeychops1:
thanks FBSF :)
whats the difference between a stylus and a cartridge and then tonearm?
Confused.com

Okie dokie.