Rega Rp1 vs Rp3 vs Thorens td160

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jackm219

Jun 7, 2016
Visit site
Hi,

i am fairly new to the turntable market with the units until now not featuring in my setup. My dad has a Thorens td 110 and gave me his old Sony. The Sony however unfortunately is characterised into the group of cheap plastic lightweight products of the late 20th century.

I initially wanted to upgrade to something that did everything reasonably well for little money like the pro ject elemental, however have fallen subject to increasing my budget again and again. I am now drawing the line at £250, but could be pushed closer to 300

The Rega rp1 really appealed to me- it's in budget, well reviewed and can be upgraded easily in time with the performance pack. I can buy it new for £230. However I am always in favour of getting something a little special second hand and paying similar money, the issue is I have no idea what to look for and could buy a lot or work. Rp3 s used are just about in range, so are Thorens td150 s and 160 s.

so should I go for the safe rp1 or try get something a little better but used and if so what.

Responses would be greatly appreciated and evaluated

nb: I already have a pre amp- Cambridge audio 551p

Jackm219 said:
Hi,

i am fairly new to the turntable market with the units until now not featuring in my setup. My dad has a Thorens td 110 and gave me his old Sony. The Sony however unfortunately is characterised into the group of cheap plastic lightweight products of the late 20th century.

I initially wanted to upgrade to something that did everything reasonably well for little money like the pro ject elemental, however have fallen subject to increasing my budget again and again. I am now drawing the line at £250, but could be pushed closer to 300