How can I improve the sound of stereo music within a home cinema set up?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
First of all let me just say that I am a total beginner with Hifi / home theater entertainment but I suppose we all started somewhere. Anyway,  I have a Denon AVR2808 + B&W 685s (FR/L) / B&W M1s (SL/R & C) + B&W AS1 SW set up in a small front room. While I am very pleased with my "home cinema sound", I can hear the need to improve the "sound of music" in stereo. Currently, I listen to music through my I-Pod (Apple I-Pod dock connected to AVR via QED performance Jack to RCA) or on CDs through my DVD player (Pioneer DV220V connected to AVR via QED performance coaxial only). After several blind tests using a a variety of formats on both the Pod & the DVD, the best sound by far is the original CD played through the DVD, but I know I can improve on that too.

So, the big question is how to improve my stereo listening without making holes in my pocket? (500 Euro budget) Here are some of the possibilities I have thought about:

1) Get a CD player. But which one, Marantz / Denon?? And would it be worth it considering that 80% of my music is in a variety of MP3 formats? Or a CD player with hard disk - e.g. Cambridge Audio 640H, but product seems to be discontinued.

2) Get a new I-POD dock i.e the Onkyo ND-S1 & digital connect to avr or Acram IRDock & Analogue connect to avr. But would these make a substantial difference in audio quality compared to the Apple dock? Would the quality of sound be better than my current DVD stereo output?