Help for a newbie

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi All,

Figured this was the place to come to for advice :). I have just inherited an amplifier and speakers and would like some help with what to put with them to create a decent system. The amplifier is a plinius 8150 and the speakers are martin logan aerius i floorstanding electrostatic combo. We have just rigged this up to my friends marantz cd player to test it's working and all seems to be good. The main issue I could immediately hear was the lack of bass. The treble is like nothing i've ever heard - vocals sound 'in the room next to you' amazing and any music mostly in this register was great. However there is little depth and punch to the bass and therefore the whole effect lacked balance.

I'm a more or less complete beginner with this stuff so go easy with me! I'd prefer not to spend the earth on this but would like to do justice to this kit which seems to be pretty good stuff. So I know i'll need a cd player and cabling (which didn't come with it) but possibly something else as well for the bass problem?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me.

A

Anonymous

As easy as that huh? :)

Having let it settle in a bit I think the bass response is actually improving. I will certainly think about adding a sub at a later stage to fatten it out though. First things first I need to get a cd player and cables to get this up and running. Any tips about what I should look out for or try in particular bearing in mind the rest of the kit?

A

Anonymous

Sorry to bump my own thread which is a hanging offence on some forums but I'd really appreciate some help with this.