First ever audition/demo this week. Any tips?

Nicky-Distance

Apr 28, 2013
Visit site
I've thoroughly enjoyed reading a lot of posts over the last few weeks as I'm making my first ever leap into quality hifi. Based on reviews and recommendations on this forum, I bought (blindly) a Rega RP6 w/ exact. It should be here in about 4 weeks as the dealer had to order it in.

I don't drive, nor do I live close to any stores therefore I'll have to travel a good 2 hours to the dealer, so I really want to make this visit worth my while. I have zero experience with good audio kit. Again, from this forum and from friends I have been advised to bring songs that I'm very familiar with and see how they sound, which is quite straight forward. From there, the questions begin:

Because I only have a turntable, what should I start with? Amp, speakers or the combination of both? What is the best process?

Ideally I would like to hear about 5 amps, everything in Kef's R and Rega's Rs speaker range and maybe a suggestion or two from the store. Would that be a bit overkill? I've never done this before and don't really know what the possibilities are. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Cheers.

richardw42

May 2, 2010
Visit site
When you've picked your tracks. I'd say listen, listen and listen to them until the demo so they're really familiar.

Maybe limit to half a dozen or less, to concentrate your mind.

An all Rega system might be all you need, but have an open mind. The dealer is there to help, not to steer you his way.

AEJim

Nov 17, 2008
Visit site
The main thing is to listen to your own music, tracks you know well and to trust your own ears. Don't let the salesman sway your opinion.

If there is a choice of demo room then find something that most closely matches the room you'll have the gear in (in terms of size and soft/hard surfaces).