Dennon AVR 1910 Setup/Settings/Connection Advice.....

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I'm new to this home cinema stuff but after an audition I recently took the plunge and bought a Dennon 1910 Reciever and a Kef 2005.3 speaker package to go with the following components:

Pioneer Kuro 42" Plasma

Sky HD

Nintendo Wii

Sonos ZP90 Zone Player

I also plan to buy a Pioneer 320 Bluray player this week.

I set up the reciever using the Audyssey feature but have noticed What Hifi recommend peforming a manual set up or turning the EQ off once this has been completed. As a novice I don't know how to do this and they don't give any direction in the magazine so was wondering what I should do to get the best from my system?

What sound settings on my reciever should I be using when using Sky? Will this differ for Bluray or Wii? Do I only use Direct Audio for Bluray?

I currently have my Sky HD connected using an HDMI cable (Van Den Hul Flat) and it's the same from my reciever to my TV. Is this giving me the best picture and sound? Do I need to change any settings on the Pioneer or Sky Box to improve these?

I am using Cambridge phono cables to connect my Sonos player to the CD imput on the reciever.

The Wii is connected to the Vid/Aux input on the front (yellow/white/red) of the reciever.

Will HDMI be the best connection for the Bluray?

Is there anything else I need to look at to get the best from my system?

Thanks in advance.

Ming x

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
All connections fine, except you also need an optical (or electrical depending on which Sky HD box you have) digital connection from the Sky HD to the Denon. Sky only sends stereo over HDMI, so you need an additional link for surround.

You need to make sure the Sky HD is set to send Dolby Digital over optical - you do this in the Sky HD sound settings menu - and that the Denon will use the digital input for sound rather than the HDMI. Page 34 of the manual explains how to do this.