Considering upgrade from A&R Cambridge A60 and Rogers Ls3/5a 15ohm to more modern kit - advice please!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Dear all

I have been using my amp and speakers for 20+ years and am considering an update! I was thinking of keeping the Rogers and pairing them with either the Rotel RA-10 or the Rega brio-r. Do you think either of these would be a good match or could I do better for similar money? I would also be grateful for your thoughts on whether more modern speakers would be worth considering - without spending too much money I.e perhaps £300 or so.

Many thanks for your thoughts.

Mike

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009
Visit site
A&R A60 ((I own one) to Rotel will be a bit of a shock to the system, so make sure you home dem, or at least bring your kit to the dealer to compare.

Unless you have heard some modestly priced modern speakers you like, Mike, I think you'd be bonkers to ditch your LS3/5as, assuming they are working properly.

No modern amplifier will flinch at 15ohms, and in any case the power handling was always modest, and most newer amps will be 50watts plus, so you'll need to be sensible with the volume control.

I cannot speak specifically for the two amps you list, other than they are well regarded. Don't just think 'best buy' though, as your speakers deserve special treatment and you might well find a modern sound too bright and even brittle (the A60 was never that sparkling when new, I recall). Yours is absolutely a case where a no obligation home dem is mandatory. You could easily spend £1000 on a decent amp for the Rogers speakers.

The nearest of today's spekers would be the KEF LS50, which happens to be an award winner.

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009
Visit site
nopiano said: