CD Player? Really?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi everyone!

I'm pretty new to all this Hi-Fi stuff and I've been wondering how much of a difference a CD player makes? I've got a Denon receiver (DRA-500AE) and a couple of Dali Ikon 6 in stereo, and everything sounds lovely from my iPhone dock, but I know people who say that a CD player makes a huuuge difference. Is that true?

A

Anonymous

Well, if the quality of the recording is as I'm used to, would it sound better with a CD player?

idc

It is not as simple as CDP vs dock. You can connect an iphone to a hifi by various means;

- a standard dock taking an analogue signal to the amp

- a digital dock such as the Onkyo which sends a digital signal to a DAC and then analogue to the amp

- dont use the iphone at all and connect the PC to the amp (either with an anlogue cable or digital to DAC and then to amp) and listen to itunes straight from the PC.

Then there is the matter of what bit rate your music files are at and if you use an ipod/phone, what its EQ is set at. All of the above can mean either your iphone sounds worse than a CDP, or better, depending also on the CDP and it qualities.

matengawhat

Aug 17, 2007
Visit site
was going to take him down that route after he answered which he used most - also interesting to know if he has a dvd or blu ray player for spinning discs and if so how its connected to the amp ect as could use either and the dac in the processor and that would prob be as good as his iphone/computer and digital dock to same dac in processor

A

Anonymous

I use the ipod dock most and it's connected to the amp with an analogue signal.

The only thing I have which spins discs (apart from my PC obviously) is a PS3.

matengawhat

Aug 17, 2007
Visit site
i suggest converting your music to at least lossless and buying a digital dock like the onkyo nd s1 instead of the cdp