Bi amping - More complicated than I thought?

lordmortlock

May 21, 2008
Visit site
Whilst I understand the basic premise of bi amping I'm unsure on a couple of points. I understand that you run hi/mid from one amp and the lows from another but how do actually take the sound from the pre to two amps? Do you need a crossover between pre and the amps? It not a bit of equipment that gets discussed here much.

Wouldn't you also have to disable the crossover in the speaker for bi amping to work properly? All sounds a bit scary to me - have I misunderstood?

jaxwired

Feb 7, 2009
Visit site
I'm no expert and I've never tried bi-amping, but here's my understanding for what it's worth. Many pre-amps have 2 sets of pre-out phone connections. On my pre-amp, there are 2 sets of phono outs for connecting to amps. Also, on my pre-amp, 1 of the outputs has a variable control that would allow a person to dial in the right power level for a second amp if it wasn't identical to the first amp.

The speakers are a simple matter. You just remove the factory metal bar connecting the two sets of binding posts. Then you connect Amp 1 to the bottom speaker binding posts, and amp 2 to the top set of speaker binding posts.

I'm not positive, but I suspect that if you only have 1 set of pre-amp outputs, you could use a 1 to 2 splitter cable to connect to 2 amps from a single pre-amp out. But obviously have 2 sets of pre-amp outs is a much better solution.

If you do have 2 sets of pre-amp outputs, but they are both fixed (no way to dial one up or down to match the other), then you have 2 options:

1. Use identical amplifiers. This is best anyway.

2. Buy an amp that has a dial to regulate the phono input signal. Some amps have this feature.