Balanced XLR cables advice please

prkprk1

May 26, 2015
Visit site
Hi all,

I've just upgraded my Rega Apollo R CD player and Brio R amp to an Abrahamsen V1.0 UP (CD) and V2.0 UP (Amp) combo.

My Rega CD was fed to a Rega DAC via an AudioQuest VCM-3 co-ax didgital interconnect and then into the Brio with an Audioquest Sydney RCA interconnect. The Abrahamsen kit has the option to use balanced XLR inputs from the CD player to the AMP.

I’ve no experience of using XLR cables, so was wondering if I would be better off using the XLR connection from CD to Amp or "standard RCA" cables (I can use my AQ Sydney cable)? If so, Any suggestions for XLRs?

I’m not sure if there will be a benefit of using my DAC between the new CD player and Amp (Not using XLR connections) as I haven’t had a chance to set everything up yet but that’s also an option.

Last piece of info, I’m driving some B&W PM1s.

prkprk1 said:
0cm;line-height:24.5pt">Hi all,

I've just upgraded my Rega Apollo R CD player and Brio R amp to an Abrahamsen V1.0 UP (CD) and V2.0 UP (Amp) combo.

My Rega CD was fed to a Rega DAC via an AudioQuest VCM-3 co-ax didgital interconnect and then into the Brio with an Audioquest Sydney RCA interconnect. The Abrahamsen kit has the option to use balanced XLR inputs from the CD player to the AMP.

I’ve no experience of using XLR cables, so was wondering if I would be better off using the XLR connection from CD to Amp or "standard RCA" cables (I can use my AQ Sydney cable)? If so, Any suggestions for XLRs?

I’m not sure if there will be a benefit of using my DAC between the new CD player and Amp (Not using XLR connections) as I haven’t had a chance to set everything up yet but that’s also an option.

0cm;line-height:24.5pt">Last piece of info, I’m driving some B&W PM1s.