AV Receiver or Hi-Fi amp? Help!

lisali

Oct 16, 2014
Visit site
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum, and I landed here after researching AV receivers. Here's my story:

For years, I had a Kenwood 5.1 surround system, which worked great - fast to switch on/off, no fan noise, great sound. Then it started making satanic, screeching noises so it had to go.

I though about getting an all-in-one system with a DVD/Blu-Ray player, so I tried models from LG, Sony and Samsung. While these are all supposed to be modern devices, I'm shocked at how slow they are to switch on an off, and especially by HOW MUCH NOISE THEY MAKE. They sound like they are churning something all the time. They are buggy, unresponsive at times and just plain annoying. The sound they produce is OK.

Someone suggested I get an amp or an AV receiver instead, as that was what my Kenwood kind of was - although it had a built-in CD/DVD player. Now, to be honest, I am not an expert in this field, and I'm not 100% sure what the difference between an amp an an AV receiver is, but I know what I want. That is:

- Fast to switch on/off
- NO FAN NOISE

I do not really watch DVDs much. I listen to music and watch a lot of high-definition TV shows, either as MKVs or streaming. My living room is small, and all five speakers would be placed next to the TV. I'm getting Amazon Fire TV soon.

I'd love to hear what you'd suggest for me, and what you'd choose in my situation and why. I need good sound, and I need it fast!

Thank you! ?

Peter Kudelstaart

Feb 25, 2012
Visit site