Anyone tried iTunes Match yet?

MajorFubar

Mar 3, 2010
Visit site
Seemed an ideal solution in order to have access to my library 'on the go' without having to dock my phone to my computer every time I wanted to put different music on it. Though I wasn't expecting it to take so long: I 'only' have 300 CDs ripped to my computer but so far it's taken a whopping 18 hours, even though it managed to match 2/3rds of my library (which itself took an absolute age). It's now at 'Step 3: Uploading artwork and remaining songs", and over the past five hours it has completed "142 of 570 items". Looks like it's a great idea, but only if you have a fast internet upload speed.

rjb70stoke

Mar 25, 2010
Visit site
Ive been using it for 12 months now, and dont begrudge a penny of the £21 fee.

That first matching and uploading while annoying, was worth it, as I now have all my music on tap whenever and wherever I am, (subject to data connection). Once its done you add too it easily and quickly, safe in the knowledge that your tunes are backed up.

True, the quality isnt what many on here would appreciate, but as an off site back-up and convienience feature its a great service.

MajorFubar

Mar 3, 2010
Visit site
Glad you've found it worth it in the long run

I'm now upto 185 out of 570 items...long way to go yet! Biggest complaint among the rest of my house is that the uploading is absolutely killing the internet (ie tying-up the bandwidth).

Overdose

Feb 8, 2008
Visit site
As I understand it, iTunes match is at 256kbps. I have my entire library stored on my iPod Classic at this bitrate so far (only 2Gb left mind you) and it is possible to upgrade the iPod HD to 240GB, so for me, the iPod is a true music anywhere solution, regardless of internet connection and at the same bitrate as iTunes match.