Amazon Music HD

xela333

Dec 29, 2019
I've been using Amazon HD for just over 2 months now, though that would give me a good amount of time to give it a fair review.

Have to say, I've just gone back to Spotify. The major drawback of Amazon HD is the smartphone app, which is absolutely awful. On the face of it, it looks clean, sharp and easy to use. But after using Spotify's excellent ecosystem for years, it is a million miles away. Some examples are not being able to download all of your music collection for offline playback, you have to do to each individual track to download it. Unless you put it in a playlist, but you still have to download again if you add new tracks. Simply selecting a new song to play will open up the full screen music controller, when I'm just trying to browse. Cannot remove a track from my library when I'm playing it. And had a few songs become corrupt after download.

Also, lack of integration with anything thats not Alexa.

These are just a few examples and make the whole experience incredibly infuriating for me. I also struggle (maybe in my old age or equipment) to really discern the different of the UHD tracks and Spotify tbh (Using Shure 215's and an APTX HD Transmitter)

So all in all, would not recommend.

Sorepaws

Jan 1, 2020
While the laptop and phone apps work very well there is a real hole in the support for streaming devices that audiophiles maybe using. Amazon are aware of this but there seems to be little progress in making sure that your streaming amp (or other system) can play anything better than AC3. Tidal does at least support FLAC on their "Masters" tracks. I should add that my experience is using equipment that is listed as a "partner" to Amazon.
My work around is to use a laptop to connected by an optical link to my chosen audio system.
As described in the review above there is a good selection of HD and UHD artists including many remastered tracks.

Friesiansam

Feb 3, 2015