A7X and HD650 DAC and AMP setup question

hidehide

Apr 25, 2016
Visit site
Hi there. After doing some research, I think I will go with a pair of Adam A7X for my computer desk (as I do everything with my computer now. I may occasionally move these out to the living room for movie watching) with music source from my Mac through USB. I will also be using my HD650 headphone quite some time for night listening. But now I am facing the dilemna on which DAC and AMP to go with it. I'm still new to all these but would like to get a decent setup where I don't have to change in the next 10 years.

Although the A7X is an active speaker, I will still need an AMP to push my HD650. Here are the setup I came up with currently:

1. Audiolab M-DAC+ (will be using the built-in headphone amp)

2. Schiit Gungnir (DAC) and Schiit Asgard 2 (AMP)

I wouldn't be able to test them out due to the place I'm located currently. Although Audiolab M-DAC+ is a famous well-known product, I do heard some review saying Schiit Gungnir have a clearer and more detail sound. I tend to go with Schiit Gungnir as it is cheaper and they are made in USA with 5 year warranty. One big difference I notice is that the Gungnir does not have a volume knob and a remote control. Will I be missing anything here? I know I can still control the volume with my Mac and the speaker volume knob...

Does anyone have experience with Schiit Gungnir and Asgard 2? Does the multibit worth the upgrade for the Gungnir? Is Asgard 2 a wise choice to be just the amp for my HD650? Or just getting the Magni 2, designed mainly for headphone, will be sufficient, and save the money for further investment of a full amp?

One more question: Or should I be investing money on other newer technology DAC such as the Cambridge Audio CXN which has bluetooth, airplay, spotify, NAS drive and uPnP support?

ID.

Feb 22, 2010
Visit site
hidehide said: