A real beginner wih questions about setting a rig up!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello all,

First let me say I'm a complete novice when it comes to Hi Fi. Most of my life I used a standard midi system and more recently I've had a pre amped turntable connected to my computer and I've listened to vinyl and CD's like that. I'm hardly an audiophile!

But I'm looking to buy an entry level receiver / amplifier and some speakers. My main requirements are to connect my turntable up, and to hook it up to my TV via HDMI.

Now even though I'm going to be using HDMI I'm not interested in building a surround set up right now. I'm just looking to add 2 speakers and possibly a sub to my setup.

I was looking at this kit and wondered what the general opinion was, reviews look positive:

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-SS-B3000-Bookshelf-Speakers-Woofer/dp/B000OG6I6A

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-STR-DH510-5-1-channel-High-Definition-Receiver/dp/B0038W0IZO

Now my questions are as follows, and please keep in mind that I'm completely new to even pairing speakers up with a receiver!

1) Are the speakers above compatible with the receiver connections-wise?

2) Could I plug in my pre-amped turntable even if there was no phono input?

3) Would there be any issues I may not have thought of just running 2 front speakers?

Hopefully someone can post a reply without laughing too much!

Oh here's a fourth question:

3) If this kit looks like it won't suit my needs, any good alternatives?

Thank you!

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
Are you buying the receiver because you'll be looking to build a surround setup in the future? If not, you should definitely consider getting a stereo amp as this will give you much better performance for your money.

josh05

Feb 28, 2010
Visit site