admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi, I am new to WhatHiFi and this forum, but have been reading your posts a lot and find them very helpful. I had a NAD320+Heybrook HB4s earlier.

I bought the 684s and A18 about 2 weeks ago, but am not happy with the absence of mids and strong vocals. The B&Ws are bright, but it sounds like my favorite music (Coldplay, Supertramp, Alan Parsons, Fleetwood etc) is choked.

I am planning to switch the A18 for the NAD 326 to get the powerful bass and mids that I like.

However, I tried the MA RX6s with the A18 today and was quite impressed with the sound. They were definitely more musical and seemed lile I could listen to them for longer.

Need your suggestions on the 2 choices...
1. Keep B&W 684 and get a NAD 326
2. Keep Arcam A18 and get the MA RX6s Need to decide in 7 days (30 dya trial finishes)

Thanks

A

Anonymous

I auditioned the A18/RX6 combo not long ago and compared the RX6's to the 684's. The RX6's and A18 were a clear cut winner, from what I heard. The B&W's as you say, sounded very bright and choked. The Monitor Audios are warmer and more relaxed, though no less detailed, so they partner well with the smooth sound of the A18.

My vote for sure goes to the A18 with the RX6's.

edit: Forgot to mention, I owned a C326BEE for a while. The sound definetly is a tad more 'boomy' than other amps, I wouldn't say that the A18 loses any outright depth or weight to it though. The A18 is also far more detailed than the C326BEE along with providing more current, which always aids to the control of your drivers. I would avoid the C326 with the 684's, I don't think that would be a good partnering.

Monstrous said: