Yes 24 bit downloads

Machinemessiah

Mar 7, 2013
Visit site
Hi, I'm new to this. I've just seen a site called HD tracks that is advertising 24 bit 192 and 24 bit 96 downloads of Close to the Edge, Going for the One and the Yes Album. I have ripped these CDs as WAV files to my NAS and was wondering if anybody out there has bought any of these high res downloads and what do they think of them. Any discernable difference over an uncompressed rip of a CD?

Thanks.

hammill

Mar 20, 2008
Visit site
I would be very careful. There has never been an SACD/DVDA of Going for the One or the Yes album. An SACD of Close To The Edge is about to be released but Steve Hoffman who is responsible for this says that the HD tracks version is not based on the SACD. My suspicion is that these have just been upsampled and would be a waste of money. FIne albums though they are, I would stick to the ones you have.

Machinemessiah

Mar 7, 2013
Visit site
Thanks for that. I suspected they might not be 24 bit remasters. I did have the dvd-a versions of Fragile and Magnification a few years ago but didn't have a system at that time that would have done them justice. No doubt someone will take the plunge, buy them and post a review somewhere. The theory of 24 bit downloads is great but I suspect we may not be able to realise the full benefit in practice. It would be nice if Linn or Mobile Fidelity were the only ones doing them!

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
hammill said:
My suspicion is that these have just been upsampled and would be a waste of money. FIne albums though they are, I would stick to the ones you have.

Although of course they could have been mastered from the original analogue master-tapes, as HD Tracks say they were: 'Sourced from Analog Flat Master.'

hammill

Mar 20, 2008
Visit site
Andrew Everard said:
hammill said:
My suspicion is that these have just been upsampled and would be a waste of money. FIne albums though they are, I would stick to the ones you have.