Yamaha RX-Vs

oxrob

Jun 3, 2008
Visit site
I am new to home cinema, but am about to buy a house which has "tremendous opportunity for modernisation". So, whilst the floorboards are up to install central heating, I thought I might as well go all out and install a 5.1 system.

So, with that in mind went with my brother to his local audo shop, and saw their Yahama RX-Vs, which all look pretty swish. They have the V1700 at £550 (ex-display) which is probably good enough for me as I am no expert in these things and will be moving from a CRT TV anyway...

I will be pairing it with a 37" TV and probably the Q-AV 5.1 system, with a PS3 and either Sky+ or BT Vision.

I really only up to £600 to spend on the amp as I have to buy the rest of the kit, as well as a bathroom, central heating system, kitchen...

Would the V1700 be a good buy (the salesman said I would have to run the sound thru an optical cable from the PS3 as the HDMI inputs won't be able to split the sound?) or as it is a 2006 model is it really now obsolete? The other RX-Vs all look good, but a lot more expensive.

The relatively button-less front (thanks to the drop down panel cover) will please my girlfriend who's keen to have it look good when not turned on - she's a little like Monica in that repect...

Or should I follow the masses and get an Onkyo?

Any help or recommondations would be appreciated.

Clare Newsome

Jun 4, 2007
Visit site
[quote user="oxrob"]

as it is a 2006 model is it really now obsolete? [/quote]

For your set-up, if you intend to fully enjoy Blu-ray discs, pretty much so.

You won't enjoy the benefits of any of the HD Audio formats your PlayStation 3 can handle when playing Blu-ray discs.

If you don't fancy Onkyo, there are new @£400-£600 receiver models due from Pioneer, Denon and Yamaha due by August. If you want to buy now, the Onkyo TX-SR606 is the best bet for your system.

oxrob

Jun 3, 2008
Visit site
Thanks for the info Clare. Very useful. I'll let go of the Yamaha then.