What speakers for Arcam?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Firstly this is my first thread, however I have been buying the mag for over 15 years!

I have just bought ab Arcam Solo Mini and was recommended the Wharfdale 10.1's.

However when I went to another retailer for speaker cable, they said I should be spending £600 - £700 to get the best out of the Arcam.

Is this correct, they said Dynauadio, Spendor and B&W CM1's?

Its only used as a second system in a small ( 8x12 foot) room

Any advise appreciated

Ian

IDB:

Firstly this is my first thread, however I have been buying the mag for over 15 years!

I have just bought ab Arcam Solo Mini and was recommended the Wharfdale 10.1's.

However when I went to another retailer for speaker cable, they said I should be spending £600 - £700 to get the best out of the Arcam.

Is this correct, they said Dynauadio, Spendor and B&W CM1's?

Its only used as a second system in a small ( 8x12 foot) room

Any advise appreciated

Ian

Hi Ian

From personal experience, Arcam and Dynos are not good bedfellows. Depends on budget, but i would look at starting with Monitor Audio BR2. Arcam are very much a synergy-reliant amplifiers, hence why I mentioned MA's.

B&W are a good mix but the B&W's need a fair amount of power to make the most of them. The maximum I would spend is no more than £1,000. Top of this figure, for around £900 (although s/hand is nearer your budget) is the Ruark Sabre III. As long as your room isn't too large they should do the job nicely.

Messiah

IDB:

Maybe to get the 'best' out of the Arcam you could buy some £100k speakers! I'm sure the dealer was being helpful but c'mon.