Vinyl setup for ~£600?

TMortin

Nov 16, 2013
Visit site
First of all, hey.

I'm totally new to this but I heard this is a great place to ask for advice on anything audio so here goes...

I'm looking to get into vinyl and I have about £600 to create my very first "setup" if you like. I have NO equipment currently other than some cables; no turntable, no phono preamp, no speakers, so this £600 needs to cover all of that. I am a total newbie so any advice is welcome but I don't want anything too complicated to set up since its my first time and all. ;)

Cheers in advance.

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009
Visit site
£600 is very tight for what you want to achieve.

I would recommend the following (try to find the extra or get the Brio R ex-dem):

Pro-ject Essential (£200) + Rega Brio R (£497) + Wharfedale 9.0 (£40)

CarlDW

Dec 29, 2011
Visit site
I would also look at the Project Essential turntable, with either the Denon PMA720AE (now under £200) or Pioneer A30 (around £180) and for speakers the Q Acoustics 2020i (£165) or Dali Zensor 1 (around £200).

I believe CnoEvil is on the right track if you are aiming to buy new, certainly regards the amp as it has a good phono stage - it is Rega after all.

Much better can be got for your money if buying second-hand but this becomes a bit of a minefield if you do not know what you are getting.

I am somewhat amazed a people feeling they need to get into vinyl this late in the day, but it is good to see.

Do you actually own any LP's?

Vinyl will cost you dear once you have been bitten by the bug :)

stevebrock

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
Vinyl will cost you dear once you have been bitten by the bug
smile.png

Tell me about it!

TMortin

Nov 16, 2013
Visit site
Al ears said:
I believe CnoEvil is on the right track if you are aiming to buy new, certainly regards the amp as it has a good phono stage - it is Rega after all.