Turntable

Natalie

Nov 21, 2016
Visit site
[font="ProximaNova-Semibold, arial, verdana, sans-serif"]Hi, my 19yr old son has asked for a turntable for Christmas, he has just started collecting vinyl. I don't really want to spend over £200, but I have no idea what I'm looking for on the internet.. please help! [/font]

Natalie

Nov 21, 2016
Visit site
Natalie said:
Hi, my 19yr old son has asked for a turntable for Christmas, he has just started collecting vinyl. I don't really want to spend over £200, but I have no idea what I'm looking for on the internet.. please help!

As Steve asks, it is important to know you are buying the appropriate product. Some turntables come complete with special amplifiers. I've no recent experience with budget models, but these reviews are up to date (link below).

It isn't quite such a surprise, but if he is well read on the subject, maybe he should do the choosing, while you set the budget?

http://www.whathifi.com/best-buys/hi-fi/best-budget-turntables

Natalie

Nov 21, 2016
Visit site
Yes and we have speakers, want something will good sound that doesn't look plastic/cheap... I don't understand all the jargon, just want something to plug into speakers.. Thanks

stevebrock

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
Natalie what is the make / models of speakers and amplifier ??

We need to know this so we can suggest the way to go - what is the reason you son wants a turntable ? I presume he has just started collecting records due to the recent popularity in the format.

it would be helpful to give as much info as possible as it's quite difficult to get good results from vinyl at this end of your budget - this could leave him very disappointed with the experience

Natalie

Nov 21, 2016
Visit site
Ok.. The speakers are Technics , 3way direct drive speaker system ( actually my old hi if system that I haven't used for years) it's a technics RSI-HDA710