Total beginner, what did I need and what to do !

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Can someone please give me a basic description on how and a list of equipment needed for downloading music and playing through stereo speakers.

I have tried to understand the basics, but confused even at this stage !

The only equipment I have is a laptop (wireless) and also desk top computer, no i pod or mp3. I do not require if to be portable.

I just want to download songs (not films) and then connect to a stereo amp and get a decent sound ! I would probably need an outside hard drive as the computer is years old, and the laptop does not have a very large hard drive.

I don't know where to begin.....

Thanks !

idc

Step 1 - Music Manager for your PC.

Firstly you need a music manager for your computer. This is the programme that will import CDs and download music for you, create the music files, sort them and play them. The most well known programme is itunes. You can download it for free. Apple then hopes you go to their online store and purchase downloads from there. Itunes is a bit restrictive particularly with using an mp3 player, you can only use the ipod. (if you are a computer buff there are ways round this, but I will keep it simple) If you have a Windows PC then you have a music manager already installed, Windows Media Player. This will also allow downloading (but not directly from the Apple download store). There are other music managers such as Songbird, Foobar and Media Monkey. Google them and see if you find one more presentable and eaier to use than another. Simplest would be WMP or itunes.

Step 2 - Downloading music.