Thoughts on Yamaha Ns-Sw 300 Subwoofer

Forever Young

Jul 28, 2016
Visit site
I have little experience of subwoofers. I had one with computer speakers many years ago. I played around with a PA sub once but it sounded dreadful. I have a subwoofer question. Thought it makes sense to ask in Cinema section, dispute being most interested in music.

Am considering a subwoofer to compliment my Aviano 8s. Firstly, before everyone starts recommending different speakers, I do like my speakers. I appreciate there will be superior ones for mega bucks but I'm on a budget. The bass is very tight, which I do like. Some material really shines with my speakers, with extremely clear, high resolution bass. On some material, the speakers are just a bit too laid back and lacking in bass. For example, listening to Pink Floyd, they sound out of this world. For bass heavy reggae, they really do put the bass out. Some rock and dance music is lacking. I appreciate the sound of my speakers for certain material and wouldn't change that. It's also useful if the kids are in bed.

I've never got into surround. Some people listen to music on their surround system. I've always been the other way around. I run TV/films through my stereo for the better sound. My room is pretty small atm but that is hopefully less permanent than any sub I buy.

I'd like a sub to liven up the bass on certain music, so I want something that's good for music. I want it to be reasonably capable. There's no point if they take away from my setup, rather than adding some well controlled grunt. The other thing I want to be able to throw a party occasionally and not blow my sub when I turn things up.