Sub woofer crosser

Stewpot8311

Aug 19, 2022
Visit site
Sub woofer crossover has always confused me and I never know what to set it to. I have a denon X3500H amp, front speakers are Q acoustic 3050i’s and a old AAD E8 sub (don’t ask lol). What do I set the crossover dial to? And do I change anything in the amp settings? I have it set to LFE+main which gives a bit much punch but maybe too much when not needed on certain things. Any help would be great

Welcome to the forum.

I’m not a sub expert, though you may find nobody knows your model. The QA are my cup of tea though, and as a default in the absence of anything else, I look at the SVS guide here.

I daresay other makers may offer similar info. The recommendation for your QA model is set the sub crossover at 60Hz and the low-pass setting on the receiver at 50Hz. Keep the sub volume low at first, halfway or less.

SVS make great affordable subs if you want a change.

Stewpot8311

Aug 19, 2022
Visit site
Welcome to the forum.

I’m not a sub expert, though you may find nobody knows your model. The QA are my cup of tea though, and as a default in the absence of anything else, I look at the SVS guide here.

I daresay other makers may offer similar info. The recommendation for your QA model is set the sub crossover at 60Hz and the low-pass setting on the receiver at 50Hz. Keep the sub volume low at first, halfway or less.

Thank you, yeah I imagine not many at all will know the sub. It’s a old one that had been replaced by one that came with my monitor audio set but it broke so i dug this old boy out but never got round to buying a new one. Silly question but where would 60hz be on the dial roughly would you say? It goes from 40hz to 120hz, in clock face terms Im imaging sort of 11 o’clock ish? I do hear SVS subs are very good

Stewpot8311

Aug 19, 2022
Visit site
Welcome to the forum.

What’s the low pass setting on a amp? I assume it’s the LPF for LFE? Mine only goes down to 80hz