Student system

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I'm a student looking to upgrade my current setup used in my uni house and my (tiny) bedroom during summer at home. CA 540V2 amp with the CA S30s, very nice sound - my first step on the slippery slope of hi-fi! Due to shocking room acoustics at uni, where 90% of usage will be (tall ceilings and laminate floor) and poor source material (320 Kbps mp3s forms the majority of my music collection via external hard drive and laptop) the sound can be a little bright at times, or not so much bright, but displays the classic 'hardness' of digital music. Furthermore, I listen to a ridiculously broad spectrum of music, it would be nice to have just a touch more authority behind some genres music. Not to say I want big bold boomy bass, just a bit more warmth or fullness to the sound, perhaps compinsating for poor room acoustics and without loosing fidelity if possible.

So from here I percieve 2 possible routes. Budget £200ish

1) Used DAC of ebay. Beresford or Dacmagic, using USB input. And using remainder of money to purchase subwoofer (wharfdale sw150) - I like the idea of being able to turn the sub off, or have adjustable volume depending on circumstances

2) Invest in a pair of big bookshelf or floorstanders. My uni room is a fairly large space. Wharfdale 10.2s. Or similar floorstander? Seen a few DJ speakers which I know to be a step away from hi-fi, but seem to offer a strapped-for-cash student a lot of box and drivers for the money. Wharfdale Xarus5000 and Mission MX6 spring to mind. (open to suggestions here!) - this would migitate the need for a subwoofer and would provide a bigger/more dynamic sound. Would also be easier to intergrate?Purchase a DAC soon after.

2.1 w/sub

or

4 speaker setup for 100% music reproduction

Welcome to the forum.

What is the size of your room? It's a tricky one because I don't see a 'quick fix'. Cambridge tend to influence harshness, especially if your room isn't well damped.