pauldownton1979

Jun 24, 2009
Visit site
im new to all this pc based stuff. please help!

can i simply connect my laptop to my amp via a 3.5mm - 2xrca lead in order to listen to spotify through my amp ?

what is a dac/airport express/airfoil ? are they just for streaming wireless stuff ? it says in another thread that you can only stream 320kb if you pay the premium. is this the same story if you connect with a wire ?

if so, at what level am i going to recieve ? im playin stuff at the mo through the laptop just seeing what spotify its self can do. however it doesnt seem to tell me what quality the stuff im playing is ? is it lossless until you stream it ?

lots of questions! most of which prob obvious to most of you

cheers

paul

A

Anonymous

1. Yes you can use 3.5mm cable but you will get better sound quality using a USB cable into a DAC.

2. A DAC converts a digtital signal into analogue so you can hear it. Plenty of other threads will tell you what airport express / airfoil are - I dont know.

3 etc Look at the Spotify FAQs - open Spotify and look in Help.

A

Anonymous

You get betterquality if you use a digital optical cable from pc->dac than USB apparently. Something to do with the USB method only being 16-bit.

JoelSim

Aug 24, 2007
Visit site
pauldownton1979:
im new to all this pc based stuff. please help!

can i simply connect my laptop to my amp via a 3.5mm - 2xrca lead in order to listen to spotify through my amp ?

what is a dac/airport express/airfoil ? are they just for streaming wireless stuff ? it says in another thread that you can only stream 320kb if you pay the premium. is this the same story if you connect with a wire ?

ÿif so, at what level am i going to recieve ? im playin stuff at the mo through the laptop just seeing what spotify its self can do. however it doesnt seem to tell me what quality the stuff im playing is ? is it lossless until you stream it ?

lots of questions! most of which prob obvious to most of you

cheers

paul