Speakers for marantz cd5001 & pm4001

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am new to the world of separates and have just bought the cd5001/pm4001combo at RS. At present I am using bi-wired gale monitor gold speakers (using basic QED cable) in a room 3m x4m. It is certainly an improvement on my old Teac CR L600, which will now be consigned to the bedroom. My first question is this: would a change of speaker to a WHFISV 5 star pair e.g.Tannoy Mercury F1 custom, Wharfedale 9.0/9.1,Mordaunt Short 902i, Monitor Audio Gold BR2 (budget £150) be a noticeable upgrade as I was thinking of getting Tangent Evos for the bedroom? If the upgrade would be worthwhile which would be good for 70s Folk (Joni Mitchell, Cat Stevens etc) Jazz and some choral classical? I have read on the forum that a subwoofer could be added to the amp for classical. If so what would be good and (excuse me for being technically limited) where exactly to the red and black sub woofer wires go in the back of the amp? I would like to run a second set of speakers to the kitchen. Would this have to be sacrificed for the subwoofer? Any help gratefully received.

matthewpiano

I'd go for the F1 Customs with that set-up. They'll bring about a huge improvement over the Gales. I don't really advocate the use of subwoofers for stereo set-ups, and especially for classical music, so someone else will have to advise you on that. Hope you get lots of pleasure from your new system!!

d_a_n1979

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
Personally with that set-up i'd go for Monitor Audio BR2's with some decent stands.

Sevenoaks have a 25% discount off all Monitor Audio Bronze and Silver range speakers currently so i'd take advantage of that whilst you can.

The BR2's have cracking reviews and will be vetry good for the likes of Joni Mitchell etc...

matthewpiano