speakers for kandy cd/amp

Craig M.

Mar 20, 2008
Visit site
hi, i recently replaced my cambridge audio 640 v2 cd/amp with wharfedale 9.1s with a roksan kandy mk.lll cd/amp and dynaudio audience 42.

i am on the whole extremely happy, its a massive improvement on my previous system, which i found too bright for extended listening.

i auditioned the kandy kit with kef iq5 se and monitor audio rs1 as well as the dynaudio 42's, and while i liked the kef's as well i preferred the treble from the 42's, the kef's sounded a bit harsher to my ears. so, i like the treble and the way voices sound, and there's tons more punch and a faster sound then my last system, why am i thinking of changing the speakers? this is where it gets tricky as i'm a relative novice to hi-fi and might not describe what i mean very well. my slight gripe is with the bass which i sometimes find hard to follow, there's generally enough of it but it doesn't seem as clear as the rest of the sound. i wouldn't mind a bit more slam from drums as well. my main issue though is i have to place them at least 55 cm from the rear wall or the sound gets a bit full/boomy and my living room, akwardly L shaped, isn't very wide so they intrude a bit more then i would like.

what i'm after is a speaker with a similar treble to my 42's and hopefully improved bass. i mainly listen to rock music from the 60's to present day and am willing to spend up to £1000 on the speakers if i like them. if my memory serves correct a review of the proac studio 110 and atc scm11, said that both could go near a rear wall? both would require some travel to audition which i don't mind, do you think these could give what i am after? any others i should consider?