Thank you in advance for any advice you can offer.

I have recently purchased a JBL LSR 305 active speaker but due to some misunderstanding I currently only have one (you are able to purchase them singularly).

This speaker has both XLR and TRS 6.3mm audio inputs.

I am using a deagonly dac with a 3.5mm output cable, plugged into a 3.5mm to 6.3mm converter into the speaker, however when I attempt to play music throught the speaker the sound lacks any low frequencies. If I fiddle with the 3.5mm cable either at the adapter or dac end (ie remove slightly from jack) I can angle the connection so that a more normal sound can be heard on the speaker.

I have a feeling it may have something to do with the cable being for a single source, while the speaker wants to act as pair so connections are slightly different?

I am a realtive novice to this so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Sam.

davedotco

Apr 24, 2013
Visit site
Interesting.

You have a three pole mini jack which will have a stereo signal on the tip and ring and a 6.3mm jack socket which will have +ve and -ve phase of a single channel on the tip and ring.

It is about as big a c*ck up as it is possible to get in audio.

You need to combine the two channels of the dac into a mono signal, then apply the mono signal to the tip, +ve phase only, of the 6.3mm jack socket. You will also need to determin whether the unused ring, -ve phase only needs to be tied to ground or left floating, that will be determined by the design of the differential input stage of the speaker.

Good luck with that...*crazy*

luckylion100

Nov 6, 2011
Visit site
you came on here previously seeking advice,. were offered plenty of options and appear to have followed none of it. As said above, save up for the extra speaker to complete the pair.

ID.

Feb 22, 2010
Visit site
Seems odd.