Simple DAC questions

Mr.Fi

Nov 29, 2012
Visit site
(I'm really new to this stuff).

Recently when browsing a few hi-fi websites I noticed that they sold headphone amps. After reading into it a bit more I noticed that many came with DACs and are particularly good at upgrading the sound quality from computers.

I have an iMac (with uncompressed CD-quality audio files) and a pair of Klipsch x10s (in-ear earphones). I'm looking at something to improve the sound quality and to also be able to output to a hi-fi too (without the need to change outputs every time). The sound quality to the hi-fi needn't be that good (as it will mainly be used to let people hear sample tracks and the radio from the internet), the main listening will be done through earphones (so good quality essential there).

Will the DAC/headphone amp make much difference to such small earphones (are they really there to boost over-ear headphones)? And is it unreasonable to expect anything to be able output to two devices without pulling one connection out?

I've been looking at the Fiio E7 (with two headphone output jacks) and the Arcam rPac (with headphone output jack and phono output). Naturally they will connect to the mac via USB (unless Firewire or Thunderbolt are usable).

quadpatch

Mar 28, 2011
Visit site
No Firewire or Thunderbolt, it'll all be USB. I highly recommend the Arcam rPAC, if you can stretch to that cost, although it can be buggy on Apple computers so get it from somewhere you can take it back to is my recommendation there. It's a really great little unit! and I think it outputs to the headphones and RCAs at the same time. Can anyone else confirm this? I don't want to disconnect my M-DAC right now.

Mr.Fi

Nov 29, 2012
Visit site
It would be really useful to know if the rPac can output to both at the same time.

Also I see that you have some of the Riio DACs, how do they compare?

quadpatch

Mar 28, 2011
Visit site
Hey there Mr.Fi,